Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image


Scroll to top


New York Community Bancorp

About New York Community Bancorp:

With assets of $42.0 billion at June 30, 2010, New York Community Bancorp, Inc. is the multi-bank holding company for New York Community Bank—a savings bank with 243 branches serving customers throughout Metro New York, New Jersey, Ohio, Florida, and Arizona—and New York Commercial Bank, with 35 branches in Manhattan, Queens, Brooklyn, Long Island, and Westchester County, all in New York.

New York Community Bank…Now in our 16th Decade of Service Founded in 1859 in Queens, a borough of New York City, New York Community Bank is one of the top 25 depositories in the United States. The breadth of our franchise is the result of earnings-accretive merger transactions with five local institutions and, more recently, our FDIC-assisted acquisitions of AmTrust Bank and Desert Hills Bank, which provided us with branches in Ohio, Florida, and Arizona.

Reflecting the acquisition-driven expansion of our franchise, our 244 branches operate through seven local divisions, each with a history of strength and service in its community. In New York, we serve our customers through:

  • Queens County Savings Bank, with 33 locations spanning the borough;
  • Roslyn Savings Bank, with 56 locations in Nassau and Suffolk counties, combined;
  • Richmond County Savings Bank, with 22 locations on Staten Island; and
  • Roosevelt Savings Bank, with eight branches in Brooklyn.

We also operate two branches each in the Bronx and Westchester County directly under the name New York Community Bank.

In New Jersey, we serve our customers through Garden State Community Bank, with 52 branches in Essex, Hudson, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Ocean, and Union counties.

Our Ohio Savings Bank division meets the needs of our customers in northeastern Ohio with 29 branches; and

Our Amtrust Bank division serves our customers through 25 branches in south Florida and 14 branches in central Arizona.

New York Commercial Bank…Providing Personalized Service for Consumers and Businesses On December 30, 2005, we completed our first commercial bank acquisition, with the addition of Long Island Financial Corp., parent of Long Island Commercial Bank, to our banking family. The acquisition provided us with an established commercial banking platform, and was intended to serve as the foundation for the growth of our new commercial bank subsidiary.

Established in 1989 to address the financial needs of small businesses and consumers on Long Island, the bank was renamed New York Commercial Bank upon completion of the transaction to better reflect the broader marketplace we expected to serve.

It didn’t take long before we fulfilled this expectation. Reflecting the acquisitions of Atlantic Bank of New York and Doral Bank’s branch network in New York City, the Commercial Bank now has 35 branches, including ten each in Queens and Long Island, six in Manhattan, five in Brooklyn, and four in Westchester County.

Positions Available:

Interested applicants must complete an electronic application via the New York Community Bancorp, Inc. “Careers” section at one of our NYCB their websites.